Wheel of Misfortune

The first time I saw a hawk strike a dove, watched as wings and blood rained from the sky, I grasped that the hand of fate was kind to some of us, but not to all of us.

 

We are asking for a 33-word response to the following snippet:

The first time I saw. . .

Here’s the catch: all of your 33 words must be one syllable each.  We’re going low-brow on your this week.  Or not.  Can you class it up under these restrictions?  Give us your best. – See more at: http://www.trifectawritingchallenge.com/2014/01/trifextra-week-100.html#sthash.3ZFI1mMl.dpuf

29 thoughts on “Wheel of Misfortune

  1. Thanks, dear Jo. I saw this happen again just last week. I know the hawk has to eat to survive, but at the same time it seems unfair to the dove. I guess that’s just how life is, but I’m so glad for the happiness that friends like you bring me:) xx

  2. In this moment, in these months, I felt your words strike me like that hawk struck that dove.
    Some things are some people and not for others, what a beautiful 38 words to illustrate that.

    xo

    • I’m sending hugs, sweet Kir. Life is so unfair, and it breaks my heart. If I can ever do anything to help ease your sorrow, you know where to find me, ok? xx

      • Oh my sweet friend, I have felt every hug, every deep sigh you shared with me. I promise.
        You are already doing so much to heal my heart. THANK YOU, my friend for that, every single day.

        xox

  3. The title of this sets it up perfectly. Fate, circle if life, the random seemingly-ness of things. I’ve seen a hawk strike and a bald eagle fish. Your description hit a home run. Gorgeous words as always and always a pleasure to stop by!

  4. Blood raining from the sky is just how other things feel, too. Kudos, Valerie. ❤

    There's a rooftop across the street (low buildings) where we heard more than saw (the luxury of turning away) a seagull rip apart a pigeon. Stays with you, and you sort of have to look, metaphorically.

    btw, my eldest is striking out for England on Friday. (Misery loves company.)

  5. So true… the hardships seem to be dealt randomly at times.

    I’ve seen a hawk catch a pigeon. Thank goodness I didn’t see the blood, but the rain of plucked feathers was eerie!

  6. The are a lot of wickedly-strong entries arising from this week’s prompt and, not surprisingly, your work is right there among the best of the week again! From the description of blood raining down, to the counter-balance in our culture of hawks and doves and, finally, to the topic of randomness of luck, survival, good fortune, well, your piece just works and works well. Bravo, Valerie. Excellent work, as always. 🙂

Leave a Reply

