Sweet Adeline

I can only imagine what went through her mind when she found out.  Or dare myself to wonder whether she was mercifully by herself, where her sorrow could consume her privately, or if, in the company of others, she simply had to assume a brave face and carry on as best she could.

And I’ll never know the exact color of his eyes.  But as a woman so possessed myself, I am certain, that in her soul, when she remembered those eyes, how they swallowed her up, she would have followed him down into those drowning depths, in a heartbeat.

 

 My Blog Can Beat Up Your Blog

Thanks Lance!

http://lancemyblogcanbeatupyourblog.wordpress.com/

11 thoughts on “Sweet Adeline

  1. You are so good at these prompts:~)

    On a more serious note, the first paragraph really got to me. Having lost loved ones, your words really touched me, especially “mercifully by herself, where her sorrow could consume her privately or if, in the company of others, she simply had to assume a brave face and carry on as best she could.”

    You’ve captured the feeling of grief so well in these words. I would always choose to be by myself, which is why I loved your use the the word, “mercifully.”

Leave a Reply

