Battening Down

Black-Anchor-Peacoat-Buttons-of-US-Navy-600x418

Sometime, before the end of summer, I will need to reinforce the buttons on my coat.

Ten anchors sewn against black wool, threads loosened by the wear and tear demands of last fall and winter.

And sometime, before the end of summer, I will need to reinforce my heart.

Ready it for the wear and tear demands of this fall, and winter, and seasons yet to come.

A  heart that will need its own anchor.

~

By way of explanation, my daughter is graduating from high school in two weeks.  Significant changes are afoot for me.

 

Lillie McFerrin Writes

http://lilliemcferrin.com/five-sentence-fiction-anchor/

 

Picture credit  here.

12 thoughts on “Battening Down

    • Angie, June 6th here…D-day;) This will be a tough one, huh? I’m sending prayers and tissues your way as well, and a pinkie promise to visit your blog soon…Thanks for reading this, too:) xx

  1. This was the essence of you, those anchors, the battening down..oh Val it was beautiful and honest.
    (psst: your heart is going to be just fine, I promise.)

Leave a Reply

