Camisole

What first catches my eye is the color.  A depthless blue green.  Copper weathered by spindrift, and I can’t resist touching it.  I am wanting, so desperately, to feel beautiful, and somehow I am convinced that the loveliness of this fluid ideal of crushed silk and gossamer lace will seep into my skin, into the flagging image of myself.   I imagine it sliding over my shoulders.  Imagine it must be like slipping into water, and at once I am longing for the ocean, longing to be, where in my element, I am resplendent. 

6 thoughts on “Camisole

    • Meg, you are the stunning one. Truly. You are such a shining star for me. Thanks so much for your comment. When I saw the camisole I was instantly reminded of the sea, and knew I had to try to capture the way it made me feel in words. Writing….when we allow ourselves to drown in it, it sort of saves us, I think. xoxoxo

  1. Loved this one Valerie! I loved it when you said “I am wanting, so desperately, to feel beautiful, and somehow I am convinced that the loveliness of this fluid ideal of crushed silk and gossamer lace will seep into my skin, into the flagging image of myself.” That’s exactly how I feel about certain clothes. When you finish your book, please put me on the list of people to read it. There’s so much bad writing out there nowadays and your imagery is always so beautiful! I would love to read a book of yours!

    • Melissa dear, I can’t even begin to tell you how inspired I am by the depth, beauty and honesty in your writing. Thank you for this, but thank you for giving me something to aspire to as well. xoxoxoxo

      • 🙂 Thank you Valerie!! What a wonderful compliment. You know, it was interesting, but when I first started writing my blog, I never intended it to go the direction it did. It was really just supposed to be about practicing my writing. Then for some reason, I felt this need to share what I have learned from my experiences. I only hope that they give some people motivation to keep going. If I have done that, then I am a success. 🙂

  2. Melissa, I originally started a blog simply as a way to promote an Etsy shop, and discovering that I loved to write was a revelation for me! I’m like you, I just want to do positive things with what I put here. And as for being a success, you are, dear one, you so very much are. 🙂

Leave a Reply

