Beyond Hope

The memory of ice is not yet distant enough, and even now, doubt and fear sit too close for comfort. Cold skeletons brittling your ear with low-voiced disquiet.

Once, it’s true, you assumed you were ice-bound beyond recall.  But you were wrong.  The ice was broken in the way that life, out of the blue, can gift a brighter side.

So in spite of the skeletons, that is what you choose to remember.  And faith burns, rendering them powerless.

~

Poetic Justice

http://lightandshadechallenge.blogspot.co.uk/2014/09/light-and-shade-challenge-monday-29th.html

11 thoughts on “Beyond Hope

  1. πŸ™‚ How beautifully poetic! It’s better to focus on the light in life, but sometimes it seems easier to focus on the devilish dark…sometimes we fell we only deserve to focus on the darkness. I loved this!

      • Thank you so much for that! And you are so right. We need to focus on the light but the dark does seem easier, more what we deserve.

        And I had to smile at fell/feel to because I make that same mistake myself all the time.

        I LOVE the name of your blog, by the way, and I am going to visit it right now. πŸ™‚

        Thank you again, C.R.!

      • Oh, thank you! πŸ™‚
        My fingers are a bit quicker than my brain sometimes πŸ˜‰ I also do a lot of ‘form’ when I mean ‘from.’ Ha Ha πŸ™‚ and then I overlook it in edits almost every time.

      • I’ve done the form/from myself! Too funny! And you know what the worst one for me was? All of the comments I left a few months ago as The Wrod Pirate…That still makes me cringe! πŸ™‚

  2. I love the message in this writing:~) But I confess, as a writer, I totally taken by these darker words, “Cold skeletons brittling your ear with low-voiced disquiet.” That is such a great description and, of course, you came back to with the “brighter side.”

    Also, the conversation with “Ink of the Soul” was funny. I not only have problems with the words I do write, but all too frequently I leave out words. I think it’s because I talk as I type and so my brain says it was spoken so therefore it should be written, but my “brain” forgets my fingers aren’t always so fast. I’ve re-read comments I’ve left and they’ll three or four words missing…it’s frustrating, but it’s me:~)

    Happy day to you!

    • Sara dearest, it’s funny how our brains work, isn’t it! Sometimes I’m surprised that I can write anything coherent at all. πŸ˜‰ I’ve been thinking of you, and I will write soon. I find your advice incredibly invaluable and supportive! xoxoxo

Leave a Reply

