My Valentine

Yesterday, I discovered the depths to which it is possible to be hurt by the actions of someone else. Enough, as it turns out, to have made me cry so hard my nose bled. While in time I will allow the circumstances to fade away, the fact that we humans have the capacity to inflict such pain on each other remains. My soggy Kleenex offered up a bit of hope, though. There, among tear stains and splotches of blood, a perfect little red heart.

A reminder, of sorts.

About love, kindness, compassion, tolerance, those sorts of qualities.  I believe in them. With all of my heart.

Always.

10 thoughts on “My Valentine

  1. Oh no, not that kind of crying my friend.

    You’re one of my Valentines and you have a very special part of my heart sweetie.

    • You know what dearest? More and more I am thankful for those who truly care about me and have a special place in my heart as well. The rest are, to quote Frank Sinatra, “Unimportant species.” Love you. xoxoxo

  2. Yes, Valerie, I do understand that kind of pain and it feels like your heart will physically break from the depths of your grief. It takes time to heal from those kinds of wounds. But, while that happens, I want you to remember how loved you are. I managed to rise above the pain when I remembered that those who would hurt you are insecure and small-minded. They feel bad about themselves and have no other way of expressing that intense dislike for themselves than to spread it on innocent people who don’t deserve it.

    I think I listened to this song a hundred times when I was going through my deepest grief. It changed my outlook, because I knew one day I would be able to smile without pretending and I would be able to laugh without it being tinged with cynicism. And I have…and you will, too. Sending love and hugs and prayers to you to help you through this dark time. xoxo

    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xyX-I-um5Kk “A Beautiful Heartbreak”

      • 🙂 Me? A miracle? Nah…lol! I’m just a human who makes mistakes, but sometimes, I listen to what Heavenly Father prompts me to do and for some reason, I think He knew you needed that song. He just wants you to know you are not alone. Hugs and lots of ❤ to you dear Valerie.

  3. I am sorry you’re going through this time, but I know you’ll make it because YOU saw a bloody heart in worn ragged Kleenex::~) Not everyone would have noticed that. Matter of fact, most people probably would’ve just tossed the Kleenex into the trash, but not you. You turned it into a written affirmation for us and for yourself:~)

  4. I’m late to leaving you a proper Valentine, but I’ll echo what Sara says. You have a lovely heart, and the strength to reach out when things are bad, and words to pave a path for you.

  5. Sad to see the tears. Sorry to read and reply to this late. Unfortunately we get affected by the actions of others – positive and otherwise. Please muster your courage and move on. May you find peace soon!

Leave a Reply

