Strawberry Moon

I missed the Strawberry Moon.  Not because I forgot about it. On the contrary, I watched the sky throughout the day, took measure of the clouds, wished and willed them into clear blue. But it wasn’t meant to be. I sought consolation in the fact that there are many other wonders of this world for me remaining likely nevers. It did not help, because there are other once hoped likely nevers that I am not missing. A loved one’s illness. Bitter divorce. Seemingly monumental struggles with mental health. No, I missed the Strawberry Moon. A once in a lifetime, that held a lot of significance for me, I mourned, as I tried to fall asleep amid thunder and lightening. But it was still there, I promised myself. That Strawberry Moon. High above the dark and gray. Still shining over me.

5 thoughts on “Strawberry Moon

  1. Yes, the thought of that something good still there, just beyond the storm, is what keeps most of us going, I think. I do think I would have traded you weather, though. We had a nasty, hot, almost 100 degree day and I would have taken the clouds, lightning and thunder instead. 🙂

    • Oh Melissa, That is nasty hot! I hate super hot weather. Here, cloudy and gray is the depressing usual. I just tried to will it to be clear for this one night. But I’ve also seen some beautiful pictures of the moon, and that helps. xoxoxo

  2. The moon remains there, silently smiling at you soothing, encouraging you to stay strong.
    Rise from the ashes, Oh dear Pirate!
    And smile back
    You need the moon
    And the moon needs you too 🙂

Leave a comment