Going Home

As the crow flies, the path that wanders through the enchanting tangle of the garden is only as long as a sip, and then a second sip, of coffee. Dark roast and pumpkin spice, in a blue pottery mug. Chrysanthemums spilling over crushed stone, brushing against your bare legs with the welcoming bloom of this is what you longed for all along. Old lace curtains fashion a screen door. Air laced with autumn leaves. This longing. To pack up the empty space. The absence in what you’ve come to know and travel the shortest distance to yourself. As the crow flies.

4 thoughts on “Going Home

    • Tom, once again, thank you for this! I can’t tell you how much I appreciate your comments! And I’m really realizing how much my writing feels like home. My life is still so unsettled, but with my words I find my place in the world. I’m so thankful for that too. ❤

  1. Another beautiful poem . I love your descriptive words. Please keep on writing. You had mentioned enrolling in an on line poetry class. Were you able to do that?❤️

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

    • Thank you so much, mama! And I did take the class. I learned how to turn excerpts from my writing into poetry and combine them with images to create pieces of art! I’m excited! Love you! ❤

Leave a comment