January 8th, 2014

Last night we got our first measurable amount of snow. An icy inch, more or less, and with rain in the forecast later today, I wanted to go for a walk before it melted. Terrified as I was about falling down and making a “snow bum” I chose a route that was as flat as possible. While my thoughts wandered, so did my feet, taking me down a stretch of sidewalk Amy travels in the morning on her way to school. Instantly I recognized her footprints. The pattern of lines and zig zags made by her blue Wellington boots. For a block I measured my stride to match hers, footprint upon footprint. At the corner, I turned left to go home, while her footprints continued on, straight. Different paths. Different days ahead of us. Yet still close. As it should be.

2 thoughts on “January 8th, 2014

  1. Oh my, this has touched my deepest soul. Thank you.

    P.S. You are one very powerful author! Your compositions are a gift to any who will read and always to me. They are works of art that expresses the wonders of being human.

    Fred

    P.S.S I really, really like them. Picturing Amy and you was a delight.

Leave a comment